Once a forest of Turpentine and Ironbark, the site frequented by Aborigines, today’s Sydney Park has evolved from an initial land grant to Elizabeth Needham in 1796.
Elizabeth Needham was a First Fleet convict who later became a successful Sydney businesswoman. In 1808, Needham’s 40 acre land grant was sold to John and Gregory Blaxland. Subsesquently the land was purchased by Daniel Cooper in 1822, and it became part of Cooper family’s extensive landholdings in the area, known as the Waterloo Estate.
In 1887, Josiah Gentle purchased just over 2 acres of land on the corner of the Cooks River Road (today’s Princes Highway) ‘with all buildings and rights of way’. Gentle established the Bedford Brick Works here in 1893, naming it after his home town in England. He continued to buy up adjoining land until 1908 to expand his brickworks with several subdivisions throughout this period. This site was later owned and operated by Austral Bricks from 1933 until 1970. Since that time, it has passed through several owners.
In 2018, a parcel of this initial land grant which has passed through several private owners over 200 years (despite some views to the contrary), will become One Sydney Park, a premium residential and mixed-use low-rise precinct offering expansive views, whilst nestled within a ring of trees located within the Sydney Park boundary.
One Sydney Park is set to become one of Sydney’s most desirable residential precincts, incorporating world-class architecture, spectacular bespoke interiors, thought-provoking public art, curated ground level retail, and an abundance of green spaces and common areas. Offering a range of residential types from Park Terraces to Nest Apartments, Treetop Terraces and Penthouses, One Sydney Park will set a new standard of accommodation quality for Alexandria and Inner West.
Registrations are open and some properties are already sold … don’t miss out!